the Design Museum Shop identity

Creative Review – Opinion: the Design Museum Shop identity.

Wow, I love the new ID system for the Design Museum shop. I haven’t even read this article yet, I’m that excited about it. While I enjoy the predecessor, the  new graphic identity is much more a natural extension of the parent brand. Enjoyable as the old identity may be, I didn’t understand the need to create a new or “sub” brand; it sort of clashed with the tone and manner with the overall brand language. The new system employs a very minimal, vertical rule which I like quite a bit but then again I’m a fan of minimalist art. The rule serves as way to create visual continuity across objects and printed materials with very modest means. I also like how it echos the vertical bar of the “+” that appears in front of “shop”. When greeted by this device as signage, one can think of “inside” and “out”, “with” and “without” which speaks to me on many levels given the context: art + commodity, one in the same? Now time to reading this article on Creative Review…

About workpath

I am a visual communication designer for print, digital interface and environment. I am currently focusing on digital user interface design for web, applications, mobile and consumer products in Seattle, Washington.

Leave a Reply

